This is very simple to do. Just click the Gaming.SL logo on any Gaming.SL enabled game in Second Life, and click the button that says “Opt Out.” You can also use the Opt Out kiosk in our store, which is located on the wall by the front door. Should you change your mind, simply repeat this process to opt back in to Gaming.SL.
What does this opt me out of?
- You will disappear off of the website. You will not show up for achievements, leaderboards, jackpots, player profiles, or any other features of the website.
- You will no longer appear on in-world Scorekeepers or Gamekeepers or any other objects in Second Life that access data from Gaming.SL.
- Gaming.SL will no longer record information that pertains only to your account, such as achievements. As such, you will no longer gain achievements and will no longer see them announced for you in-world.
What does this NOT opt me out of?
- In order to record that you have opted out of Gaming.SL features, the database must maintain a record of your account that is flagged as having opted out, so we know to ignore it in the future. This record contains no private information, only freely available information to everyone in Second Life. It will, however, not be visible on the website anymore.
- If you win a game, the game must still upload the results of the game to the Gaming.SL website, which includes the UUID of the person who won it and the UUIDs of the other participating players. However, information pertaining to you will not show up on the website, such as on leaderboards and jackpots. If you win a game, it will be recorded, but it won’t be visible anywhere.
- Any existing information in the database at the time of opt-out will continue to exist, but will simply become unavailable on the website. This means any achievements or similar that you have incurred while playing will still be recorded in the database, but will not be accessible on the website. Also, no NEW information will be added to the database after opting out. If you wish to have all old information removed from the database, please contact us. We do not remove achievements and other old data immediately upon opting out because customers often opt-out by accident, and we do not want to destroy their Gaming.SL experience because they accidentally pressed the wrong button.
- Owning and playing games will still work normally.
- This does not disconnect your game table from the website, only you personally. Other people can continue to gain achievements and high scores on your game table.
- If you have purchased add-ons for your games, they will continue to work normally. It also does not prevent you from buying more add-ons, themes, or games in the future.